Indigenous research: Home

Decolonizing data : unsettling conversations about social research methods - Jacqueline M. Quinless

Decolonizing Data explores how ongoing structures of colonialization negatively impact the well-being of Indigenous peoples and communities across Canada, resulting in persistent health inequalities. In addressing the social dimensions of health, particularly as they affect Indigenous peoples and BIPOC communities, Decolonizing Data asks, Should these groups be given priority for future health policy considerations?

Decolonizing Data provides a deeper understanding of the social dimensions of health as applied to Indigenous peoples, who have been historically underfunded in and excluded from health services, programs, and quality of care; this inequality has most recently been seen during the COVID-19 pandemic. Drawing on both western and Indigenous methodologies, this unique scholarly contribution takes both a sociological perspective and the "two-eyed seeing" approach to research methods.

By looking at the ways that everyday research practices contribute to the colonization of health outcomes for Indigenous peoples, Decolonizing Data exposes the social dimensions of healthcare and offers a careful and respectful reflection on how to "unsettle conversations" about applied social research initiatives for our most vulnerable groups.

(University of Toronto Press)

Decolonizing methodologies : research and indigenous peoples, Third edition - Linda Tuhiwai Smith

To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory.

This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited third edition, this bestselling book includes a co-written introduction features contributions from indigenous scholars on the book's continued relevance to current research. It also features a chapter with twenty-five indigenous projects and a collection of poetry.

(Zed)

Indigenous methodologies : characteristics, conversations, and contexts, Second edition - Margaret Kovach

Indigenous Methodologies is a groundbreaking text. Since its original publication in 2009, it has become the most trusted guide used in the study of Indigenous methodologies and has been adopted in university courses around the world. It provides a conceptual framework for implementing Indigenous methodologies and serves as a useful entry point for those wishing to learn more broadly about Indigenous research.

The second edition incorporates new literature along with substantial updates, including a thorough discussion of Indigenous theory and analysis, new chapters on community partnership and capacity building, an added focus on oracy and other forms of knowledge dissemination, and a renewed call to decolonize the academy. The second edition also includes discussion questions to enhance classroom interaction with the text. In a field that continues to grow and evolve, and as universities and researchers strive to learn and apply Indigenous-informed research, this important new edition introduces readers to the principles and practices of Indigenous methodologies.

(University of Toronto Press)

Decolonizing research : indigenous storywork as methodology - Edited by Jo-Ann Archibald, Jenny Lee-Morgan and Jason De Santolo, With a Foreword by Linda Tuhiwai Smith

A landmark exploration from indigenous scholars and activists into how indigenous storytelling practices can decolonize the research of indigenous societies. From Oceania to North America, indigenous peoples have created storytelling traditions of incredible depth and diversity. The term ‘indigenous storywork’ has come to encompass the sheer breadth of ways in which indigenous storytelling serves as a historical record, as a form of teaching and learning, and as an expression of indigenous culture and identity. But such traditions have too often been relegated to the realm of myth and legend, recorded as fragmented distortions, or erased altogether. Decolonizing Research brings together indigenous researchers and activists from Canada, Australia and New Zealand to assert the unique value of indigenous storywork as a focus of research, and to develop methodologies that rectify the colonial attitudes inherent in much past and current scholarship.

By bringing together their own indigenous perspectives, and by treating indigenous storywork on its own terms, the contributors illuminate valuable new avenues for research, and show how such reworked scholarship can contribute to the movement for indigenous rights and self-determination

Applying indigenous research methods : storying with peoples and communities - Edited by Sweeney Windchief and Timothy San Pedro

Applying Indigenous Research Methods focuseson the question of "How" Indigenous Research Methodologies (IRMs)can be used and taught across Indigenous studies and education.

In this collection, Indigenous scholars address the importance of IRMs in their own scholarship, while focusing conversations on the application withothers. Each chapter is co-authored to model methods rooted in the sharing of stories to strengthen relationships, such as yarning, storywork, and others. The chapters offer a wealth of specific examples, as told by researchers about their research methods in conversation with other scholars, teachers, and community members.

Applying Indigenous Research Methods is an interdisciplinary showcase of the ways IRMs can enhance scholarship in fields including education, Indigenous studies, settler colonial studies, social work, qualitative methodologies, and beyond.

(Routledge)

Elements of Indigenous style : a guide for writing by and about Indigenous Peoples - Gregory Younging

Elements of Indigenous Style offers Indigenous writers and editors — and everyone creating works about Indigenous Peoples — the first published guide to common questions and issues of style and process. Everyone working in words or other media needs to read this important new reference, and to keep it nearby while they’re working. This guide features:

-Twenty-two succinct style principles.

-Advice on culturally appropriate publishing practices, including how to collaborate with Indigenous Peoples, when and how to seek the advice of Elders, and how to respect Indigenous Oral Traditions and Traditional Knowledge.

-Terminology to use and to avoid.

-Advice on specific editing issues, such as biased language, capitalization, and quoting from historical sources and archives.

-Case studies of projects that illustrate best practices.

(Brush)

Research and reconciliation : unsettling ways of knowing through indigenous relationships - Edited by Shawn Wilson, Andrea V. Breen, and Lindsay DuPré

In this edited collection, leading scholars seek to disrupt Eurocentric research methods by introducing students, professors, administrators, and practitioners to frameworks of Indigenous research methods through a lens of reconciliation.

The foundation of this collection is rooted in each contributor’s unique conception of reconciliation, which extends beyond the parameters of Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission to include a broader, more global approach to reconciliation. More pointedly, contributors discuss how effective research is when it’s demonstrated through acts of reconciliation.

Encouraging active, participatory approaches to research, this seminal text includes a range of examples, including a variety of creative forms, such as storytelling, conversations, letters, social media, and visual methodologies that challenge linear ways of thinking and embrace Indigenous ways of knowing and seeing. This collection is a go-to resource for all disciplines with a research-focus, including Indigenous studies, sociology, social work, education, gender studies, and anthropology.

Features:

> A focus on Indigenous methods of knowledge transmission that are not traditionally embraced in academia and challenges the Eurocentric concept of research

> Explores research methodologies through the lens of reconciliation on a global scale

> A unique text that utilizes reflections of individual contributors, emphasizing the narrative of each chapter relevant to Indigenous traditions of storytelling.

(Canadian Scholar)

Community-led research : walking new pathways together - Edited by Victoria Rawlings, James Flexner and Lynette Riley

The concept of Community-Led Research has taken off in recent years in a variety of fields, from archaeology and anthropology to social work and everything in between. Drawing on case studies from Australia and the Pacific, this book considers what it means to participate in Community-Led Research, for both communities and researchers. How can researchers and communities work together well, and how can research be reimagined using the knowledge of First Nations peoples and other communities to ensure it remains relevant, sustainable, socially just and inclusive?

(Sydney University Press)